2018 SASP College Nationals

How did you spend your spring break?  Well 112 college athletes spent theirs competing for SASP National Titles in Alabama. On March 10 & 11 the Scholastic Action Shooting Program held our College National Championships at the Civilian Marksmanship Program’s Talladega Marksmanship Park in Talladega, AL.  We thank GLOCK for sponsoring our use of the Marksmanship Park and CMP for their great southern hospitality.  This year was the largest championship in SASP’s history, with 16 teams, 112 athletes and 201 entries.  That is a 100% increase in teams, 44% increase in athletes and 121% increase in entries over the 2017 championships.

Congratulations to all the teams that participated with many competing in their very first national championships.  This year the results were very close with many places being decided by just a few seconds and some by less than a second.

In the Rimfire Discipline the University of Vermont took first, followed by Michigan State University in second and Texas A&M finishing third.  In Centerfire Texas A&M repeated as National Champions and also took second, with West Point coming in third. In Optic Rifle the University of Vermont took first and third with Florida State University finishing second. In Iron Rifle University of Arizona won the championship by less than 5 seconds at their first nationals with Florida State University taking second and Clemson University taking third. In the 1911 discipline Michigan State University won the national championship, with Florida State taking second and Miami University of Ohio taking third in their first trip to the national championship.

In the Open Division, Rimfire Bethel University won the National Championship by beating second place Clemson University by just 1.66 seconds, with Bob Jones University finishing third.  In Centerfire Lake Country Action Shooters and Bob Jones University shared the title with Texas A&M taking second and the University of Florida taking third.  In Optic rifle Concordia University Wisconsin competing in their first SASP took the championship beating second place University of Wisconsin Platteville by just .98 of a second, and Lake Country Action Shooters came in third.  Iron Rifle the University of Wisconsin Platteville took the title beating their in-state rival Concordia University of Wisconsin who took second, with Bethel University taking third.  In 1911 Lake Country Action Shooters took first and Concordia University of Wisconsin took second.

View the complete results here. Click on “leaderboards”, select the event you wish to see results for then select the leaderboard you would like to see. Check out our Facebook pages for photos and be sure to like and follow us!

We look forward to next year’s championship with even more teams and athletes competing for a 2019 national title.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2020 - Scholastic Shooting Sports Foundation. All Rights Reserved. Website by Venomous Design